Nashville, TN (TN Tribune)–The 51st Quadrennial Session of the General Conference of the African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church met July 6-10, 2021 at the West Concourse of the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. The AME Church is the world’s oldest Protestant denomination established by persons of African descent.  Bishops, General Officers, and Judicial Council Members were elected.


Newly Elected Bishops
Rev. Dr. Silvester Scott Beaman
139th Bishop
Pastor of Bethel AME Church, Wilmington, Delaware

Rev. Marvin Clyde Zanders, II
140th Bishop
Pastor, St. Paul AME Church, Jacksonville, Florida

Rev. Francine A. Brookins
141st Bishop
Bethel AME Church, Fontana, California

Rev. Dr. Frederick A. Wright, Sr.
142nd Bishop
Pastor, Quinn Chapel, Cincinnati, Ohio

Newly Elected General Officers

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Henderson-Marcus-480x583-2-247x300.jpg
Mr. Marcus T. Henderson, Sr.
St. John AME Church, Nashville, Tennessee

Rev. Dr. James F. Miller
Executive Director, Department of Retirement Services
Pastor, DuPage AME Church, Lisle, Illinois

Dr. John F. Green
Executive Director, Department of Global Witness and Ministry
President/Dean, Turner Theological Seminary

Rev. Dr. Marcellus A. Norris
Executive Director, Department of Church Growth and Development
Pastor, St. Luke AME Church, New York, New York

Judicial Council Members

Rev. Jonathan C. Augustine
Pastor, St. Joseph AME Church, Durham, North Carolina
Class of 2021

Rev. O. Jerome Green
President, Shorter College
Class of 2021

Advocate Thablie M. Ngubeni
Class of 2021
Bloemfontein, South Africa (19th Episcopal District)