Will Smith won the Golden Globe Award for Best Actor in a Drama. The awards ceremony was held last night, but wasn’t shown on a network or live-streamed for the very first time in decades. Photo by Dave Bennett

By Ron Wynn

NASHVILLE, TN — Will Smith was a big winner at The Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s (HFPA) 2022 Golden Globe Awards session Sunday night, an event that was not televised or live-streamed, and the audience mainly limited to select HFPA members and philanthropy grantees.

The HFPA was exposed last year  for alleged improprieties in its voting process and not having a single Black voting member. 

The HFPA consists of journalists who cover Hollywood and the entertainment industry for outlets primarily outside the United States. On October 21, the HFPA added 21 new members to diversify its ranks — while keeping its previous membership intact.

Smith was voted Best Actor In a Drama for his lead role portraying Richard Williams, the man whose training turned his daughters Venus and Serena into world class tennis players, in “King Richard.” Barry Jenkins “The Underground Railroad,” an adaptation of the best selling novel by Colson Whitehead, won the Golden Globe for Best Limited Series.

“The Power of the Dog” was one of two films to get three wins, including Best Drama, Best Director for Jane Campion, and Best Supporting Actor for Kodi Smit-McPhee. “West Side Story” won  Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy, plus Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy for Rachel Zegler, and Best Supporting Actress for Ariana DeBose.

 “Succession” led television entries with three wins: Best Drama Series, Best Actor in a Drama for Jeremy Strong, and Best Supporting Actress for Sarah Snook. “Hacks” won Best Musical or Comedy Series and also Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy Series for Jean Smart. NBC declined to broadcast the awards due to the controversy over the HFPA’s lack of diversity in its ranks.

Golden Globe’s Full List of Winners, Grouped by Television and Film


Best Drama Series: 


Best Musical or Comedy Series:


Best Limited Series: 

“The Underground Railroad”

Best Actress — Drama Series: 

Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, “Pose”

Best Actor — Drama Series: 

Jeremy Strong, “Succession”

Best Actress — 

Musical or Comedy Series: 

Jean Smart, “Hacks”

Best Actor — 

Musical or Comedy Series:

 Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Best Supporting Actor: 

O Yeong-su, “Squid Game”

Best Supporting Actress: 

Sarah Snook, “Succession”

Best Actress in a Limited Series

Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown”

Best Actor in a Limited Series: 

Michael Keaton, “Dopesick”


Best Motion Picture — Drama: 

“The Power of the Dog”

Best Motion Picture — 

Musical or Comedy: 

“West Side Story”

Best Motion Picture — Animated: “Encanto” 

Best Motion Picture — 

Non-English Language: 

“Drive My Car”

Best Director: 

Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog”

Best Actress in a Drama: 

Nicole Kidman, “Being the Ricardos”

Best Actor in a Drama: 

Will Smith, “King Richard”

Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy: Rachel Zegler, “West Side Story”

Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy: 

Andrew Garfield, “Tick Tick Boom”

Best Supporting Actress: 

Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”

Best Supporting Actor: 

Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”

Best Screenplay: 

Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast”

Best Original Score: 

Hans Zimmer, “Dune”

Best Song: 

“No Time to Die”