NASHVILLE, TN — Comcast NBCUniversal today announced that it has awarded approximately $31,000 in scholarships for the 2018-19 school year to 31 Middle Tennessee students as part of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program.  The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, is a one-time, $1,000 scholarship awarded to the best and brightest high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.  Since 2001, more than $28 million has been awarded to nearly 27,000 high school seniors across the country as part of the Leaders and Achievers Program.

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners are exceptional students who are committed to academic excellence and community service,” said Comcast Regional SVP, Doug Guthrie. “We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

Comcast, joined by District 17 Councilman Colby Sledge, recognized the students at a special event held at the Nashville Xfinity retail store yesterday.

“We are thankful that Comcast has recognized these bright and talented students through the Leaders and Achievers Program,” said Dr. Jill Pittman, John Overton High School Principal. “These scholarship opportunities not only support them as they continue their academic pursuits, but also rewards them for their hard work and successes thus far.” 

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their full potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

The 2018-19 Middle Tennessee Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Winners:

Juan Garcia-Carmona (McGavock H.S.)

Janiah Carey (Hillsboro H.S.)

Makayla Lewis (Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet H.S.)

Gabriel Hutchinson (East Nashville Magnet H.S.)

Katie Justis (Grace Christian Academy)

Kayla Belk (Dekalb H.S.)

Carolyn Oliver (Heritage Christian Academy)

Bailey Black (Father Ryan)

Taylor Gregory (Jo Byrns H.S.) 

Joe Smith (Beech Senior H.S.)

Sidney Starling (Central Magnet School)

Virginia Crawford (Ezell-Harding Christian H.S.)

Matthew Lynn (Smith County H.S.)

Elinor Hildabrand (Battle Ground Academy)

Keyaria Turner (Nashville Big Picture H.S.)

Kate Merrill (Brentwood Academy)

Jefferson LeCates (Centennial H.S.)

Caroline Howard (Merrol Hyde Magnet School)

Hailey Stroud (Hillwood H.S.)

Lia Hayduk (The Harpeth Hall School)

Dawson Wooten (Waverly)

Zachary Wolfson (Franklin H.S.)

Hannah Anderson (Donelson Christian Academy)

Caroline Conner (John Overton H.S.)

Laurel Dernbach (Franklin Road Academy)

Giggs Lithgow (Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet H.S.)

Vasudhasri Devarasetty (Brentwood H.S.)

Jonathan Anderson (Dickson County H.S.)

Griffin Collins (Blackman H.S.)

Sarah Calhoun (Christ Presbyterian Academy)

Paige Randolph (Goodpasture H.S.)More information about how Comcast supports the communities it serves available at