l-r; Keith Urban, with Little Big Town members Philip Sweet, Kimberly Schlapman, Karen Fairchild and Jimi Westbrook, pose in front of their new Walk of Fame star. All photos by Earl Flippen, Jr.

By Janice Malone

NASHVILLE, TN — Last week (Sept. 14th), the Music City Walk of Fame received its 79th star, during a tribute to the latest inductees, Grammy-winning country superstar group Little Big Town. The historic Ryman Auditorium was also honored for its 125th anniversary. Two luminaries who played key roles in the Ryman’s past, Tom Ryman and Lula C. Naff, received Walk of Fame stars posthumously. Tom Ryman was the riverboat captain who was inspired by a revival preacher to build the Union Gospel Tabernacle, later renamed The

Keith Urban hanging cool back stage before the induction event.

Ryman Auditorium, and Lula C. Naff was the theater manager who helmed the Auditorium for more than 40 years and famously booked the Grand Ole Opry there. Music City Walk of Fame. Inductees are recognized for their significant contributions to preserving the musical heritage of Nashville and for contributing to the world through song or other industry collaboration.

Little Big Town was inducted by fellow country music

Ketch Secor, of group Old Crow Medicine Show, was the presenter of the
posthumous award in honor of Captain Tom Ryman.

superstar Keith Urban, their long-time friend, who helped give them their first big break in music. The group has gone on to win 20-plus music industry awards and

Jeannie Seely was presenter of the posthumous award in honor of Lula C. Naff.

was selected as the first year-long “Artist in Residence” in the Ryman’s 125-year history. (https://www.visitmusiccity.com/walkoffame

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *