Pearl-Cohn flies to top Metro final spot.

The Pearl-Cohn Firebirds (Photo by Ryan Givens)
Pearl-Cohn Head Coach Terry Cole (Photo by Ryan Givens)

NASHVILLE- Metro boys basketball was exciting as always. Three teams punched their ticket to the state championships in Murfreesboro. The Tennessee Tribune-Wallace Media Group’s (WMG) top team, the Pearl-Cohn High School Firebirds along with the East Nashville Magnet Eagles earned their second straight trip in Class AA and the Hillsboro High School Burros made it in Class AAA.


Brian “Penny” Collins (Photo courtesy TSU Athletics)
Jaylen Jones of East Nashville the WMG Brian “Penny” Collins Metro Newcomer of the Year

McKinley Young Sr. Head Coach of the Year Terry Cole used a tremendous starting five led by Kenny Anderson Player of the Year Tyrone Marshall and Walter Wallace Sr.-Kenneth Bryant Dynamic Duo of the Year Marcus Fitzgerald Jr. and Miquan Tucker, All three also were named to the first team.

Former NBA All Star and current Fisk University Head Coach Kenny Anderson (file photo)
Kenny Anderson WMG Metro Player of the Year Tyrone Marshall of Pearl-Cohn (Photo by Ryan Givens)

East Nashville freshman Jaylen Jones earned the Brian “Penny” Collins Newcomer of the Year award. Hillsboro’s JP Pegues won the Dontae Jones Defensive Player of the Year and teammate Jalon Macon took home the Larry Howse Two Sport Athlete of the Year for his play on the gridiron and the hardwood. Rounding out this year’s superlatives is McGavock High School’s Monte Streate who won the Ron Slay Heart & Hustle Award.

Hillsboro’s (l-r) Jalen Macon, Ryan Wilcox and JP Pegues (Photo by Ashja Murchison)

The COVID-19 pandemic has postponed the state tournament so for right now the three teams are still alive. All award winners we honored individually once the pandemic is over.

Miquan Tucker and Marcus Fitzgerald Jr. of Pearl-Cohn

McKinley Young Sr. Coach of the Year: Terry Cole Pearl-Cohn
Kenny Anderson Player of the Year: Tyrone Marshall Pearl-Cohn
Dontae Jones Defensive Player of the Year: JP Pegues Hillsboro
Brian “Penny” Collins Newcomer of the Year: Jaylen Jones East Nashville
Ron Slay Heart & Hustle Award: Monte Streate McGavock
Larry Howse Two Sport Athlete of the Year: Jalon Macon Hillsboro
Walter Wallace Sr., Kenneth Bryant Dynamic Duo of the Year: Marcus Fitzgerald Jr. & Miquan Tucker Pearl-Cohn

First Team
Forward: Brandon Miller Cane Ridge Sophomore
Guard: Jaylen Jones East Nashville Freshman
Guard: JP Pegues Hillsboro Junior
Forward: Marcus Fitzgerald Jr. Pearl-Cohn Senior
Forward: Tyrone Marshall Pearl-Cohn Senior
Guard: Miquan Tucker Pearl-Cohn Senior

Second Team
Guard: Caleb Wilson Cane Ridge Junior
Forward: Isaiah Jones East Nashville Junior
Guard: Willie Wilson East Nashville Sophomore
Forward: Ryan Wilcox Hillsboro Senior
Guard: Marvin Hughes McGavock Senior
Guard: Wilton Alexander Maplewood Freshman

Third Team
Forward: Jalen Macon Hillsboro Junior
Forward: Malachi Parham Hume-Fogg Junior
Forward: Michael Dowlen McGavock Senior
Guard: Monte Streate McGavock Senior
Guard: Derek Murphy Overton Senior

Honorable Mention
Guard: William Forbes Cane Ridge Senior
Forward: Royale Tillman Cane Ridge Junior
Guard: Josh Cole East Nashville Junior
Guard: Jarrod Taylor East Nashville Sophomore
Guard: Success Mitchell Hume-Fogg Junior
Forward: Eli Holland Hume-Fogg Junior
Forward: Kendel Packer Hunters Lane Senior
Guard: Malique White Hunters Lane Senior
Forward: Dylan Wade McGavock Senior
Center: Jermaine Donnell Maplewood Senior
Guard: Jermaine Holt Maplewood Senior
Guard: Anthony Garrett Maplewood Junior
Guard: Bradley Watts MLK Junior
Guard: Marlow Blackmon MLK Senior
Forward Myles Pratt MLK Senior
Guard: Damion Allen Pearl-Cohn Senior
Guard: Antonio Anthony Pearl-Cohn Junior
Guard: Tre Rutherford Stratford Sophomore
Forward: Cooper Owen Stratford Senior
Guard: Hamza Wade Stratford Senio